Migrating from emacs to vim

This post was written originally on 01/20.

==========================================================

Someone said, “There are 3 types of programmers in the world. One uses vim, one uses emacs, and the rest use other editors. This indicates the superiority of vim and emacs.

I actually got to know vi earlier than emacs. However, I was freaked out at that time. I think vim has a steeper curve than emacs because emacs has a more friendly GUI. I was not used to the mode switching and the way of editing only without mouses. At that time, I didn’t know how important a powerful editor means to a programmer because I wouldn’t say I could be deemed as a programmer then… After I went to graduate school, I realized the importance of editors. Then I got in touch with emacs. Emacs has an easier interface to beginners, I gradually learned the enchantment of it. But unfortunately, I am not an expert on it. It is like a tiny OS that allows us to extend the functionality of it.

Recently, I switched from emacs to vim since vim is more concise on common operations, faster than emacs. The speed of a “bare” emacs is Ok, but it’s getting slower after loading several elisps. The design philosophies behind these two editors are quite different: emacs goes for the complexity and vim goes to the simplicity. I guess I favored vim now because I am getting older now. When you are young, you would be fan of some complex and fabulous stuff, but when I get older, you may be in favor of something simple but handy. This may change periodically. We’ll see.

此条目发表在Uncategorized分类目录。将固定链接加入收藏夹。

发表评论

